Indian Journal of International Economic Law

Board of Advisors

  • Ms. Jayashree Watal

Ms Jayashree Watal has been Counsellor in the Intellectual Property Division of the World Trade Organization since February 2001. She teaches intellectual property law and economics on the IELPO programme at the University of Barcelona (since 2011) and at the World Trade Institute, University of Bern (since 2012). She worked in the Ministry of Commerce of the Government of India as Director, Trade Policy Division, New Delhi (1995–1998) and represented India at a crucial stage in the Uruguay Round TRIPS negotiations from 1989–1990. She has researched and published articles on issues related to the law and economics of intellectual property rights, including a book Intellectual Property Rights in the WTO and Developing Countries (Oxford University Press, India and Kluwer Law International, 2001).

  • Dr. Andrew Guzman

Andrew Guzman is Professor of Law and Associate Dean for International and Executive Educationat at Berkeley Law School, University of California, Berkeley. He has taught more than a dozen courses on international law and economics and written extensively on topics that include international trade, global regulatory matters, and foreign investment law. Professor Guzman has served on the Board of Editors for six academic journals and has held many leadership positions with the American Society of International Law. He is also a member of the Institute for Transnational Arbitration’s Academic Council.

  • Prof. Par Hallstrom

Par Hallstrom is Professor Emeritus at the Department of Law, Umea University, Sweden. He has written on various subjects in public international law, mainly international economic organizations.

  • Prof. Yuji Iwasawa

Professor Yuji Iwasawa holds the chair of international law at the Faculty of Law in the University of Tokyo. He currently serves as the Chairperson of the Human Rights Committee under the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the Vice-President of the Asian Development Bank Administrative Tribunal. He is formerly a member of the Permanent Group of Experts under the WTO Agreement on Subsidies, a Visiting Fellow at the Lauterpacht Research Centre for International Law in Cambridge, and a lecturer of the Hague Academy of International Law.

  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Bernd Schafer

Hans-bernd Schafer is an Affiliate Professor of Law and Economics at the Bucerius Law School, Hamburg, Germany. Dr. Schafer has served as the President of the European Association of Law and Economics from 2004 to 2007 and was also the Director of the European Master Programme in Law & Economics from 2004–2008. He has also held the position of Head of the Marie Curie Fellowship Programme of the EU and Director of the Institute of Law and Economics. Dr. Schafer has written extensively in the field of law and economics and has had numerous publications in the European Journal of Law and Economics, European Journal of Comparative Economics, International Review of Law and Economics etc.

  • Dr. Choi Won-Mog

Choi Won-Mog is a Professor of Law and director of the WTO Law Center at Ewha Woman’s University School of Law in Seoul. He is a member of editorial board of various journals including the Journal of International Economic Law and the Law and Development Review. Prior to joining Ewha, he worked for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Korea for 11 years as a diplomat and legal officer in charge of numerous trade issues, including WTO dispute settlements, trade remedy issues, and FTAs.

  • Dr. Tomer Broude

Tomer Broude is the Sylvan M. Cohen Chair and Vice-Dean, Faculty of Law and Department of International Relations, Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He is one of the founders of the Society of International Economic Law and a member of its executive council. In 2011, following a nomination by the Israeli Government, the WTO’s Dispute Settlement Body added him to the Indicative List of Governmental and Nongovernmental Panelists to hear WTO disputes. In 2013 he was appointed to the list of Israeli arbitrators under the Israel-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement. He has also worked with the WTO's Institute for Training and Technical Cooperation, training government officials from Central and Eastern Europe and Central Asia in WTO law, and he regularly consults governments, corporations and nongovernmental organizations.

  • Dr. Tania Voon

Tania Voon is Professor at Melbourne Law School, The University of Melbourne. She is a former Legal Officer of the Appellate Body Secretariat of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and has previously practised law with Mallesons Stephen Jaques and the Australian Government Solicitor. Dr. Voon is a member of the Indicative List of Governmental and Non-Governmental Panelists for resolving WTO disputes and the Roster of Panellists to assist in the resolution of trade disputes between parties to the Energy Charter Treaty. She has provided expert advice and training to entities such as the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the WTO, the World Health Organization, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, Telstra, and the McCabe Centre for Law and Cancer